Skip to content

The first step towards getting somewhere is to decide that you are not going to stay where you are.

December 27, 2010

The Roman philosopher Seneca the Younger told his student Nero that “every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end,” but what really does someone who has “younger” eternally attached to his name know about moving on and growing up?

As if Seneca didn’t have a raw enough deal being forced to commit suicide for alleged involvement in a conspiracy for which he might have been innocent, he is also the victim of lax copyright laws when 1,932 years later, the Semisonics lifted his immortal words for use in their Billboard hit “Closing Time.” You can only be an original for so long (but I guess you can be “the Younger” forever).

Well with respect to both Seneca the Younger and Matchbox 20’s cover of Closing Time (it’s better than the original), I’ll borrow their advice for my own purposes and start this new chapter in my personal blogging history with a clean slate.

What happened to the Goos? They’re still here, just tired of the paparazzi slapping pictures of them all over the web and strangers referring to them as geese. I’ll respect Peter’s privacy for now, but Lucy has promised me periodic exclusive interviews so stay tuned for that.

I’m starting with a clean slate. The souffles still might not rise, the crafts may leave glitter in my hair for weeks, I may look like a mess in a dress, and there may be more grammatical errors than in The Sound and the Fury but I’ll keep it candid, honest, and personal. And I urge you to please notice when you are happy or sad or feel I made a poor choice in outfit, and exclaim or murmur or think at some point, “maybe I should share this with Rachel” and then leave a message in the comments. Even if it isn’t blog-related, I would generally like to know when my readers and friends are happy. (Especially you, mom. It helps me know when is a good time to ask for money.)

Times, they are ‘a changin’ and the wheels must keep rolling. There are new recipes to be tried, new consignment stores to dig through, new people to meet, and new adventures to be had. So slap on a frock, shove some heels on those feet, grab your two best rabbits and a tequila cocktail because the journey starts now: Welcome to Doodle & Lucy!

3 Comments
  1. December 27, 2010 2:56 am

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. January 3, 2011 6:31 am

    ah rach, i love this quote and i love the new blog (although i loved the old too). did you get a new camera? i like your pictures. so blogorific! cheers to perfecting our outfit posts in 2011! xoxo

  3. Liz Bishop permalink
    January 11, 2011 9:17 am

    You are an excellent photographer! Thank you for the great pictures of the animals and for sharing your time with us. I love all of your quotes and you are a wise 24 year old woman. xxoo

Comments are closed.

