Skip to content

If this isn’t nice, I don’t know what is.

January 7, 2011

Day 1 of Year 24 is upon us. Hard to believe I made it this far without becoming sort sort of statistic they quote in brochures kept in high school guidance counseling offices. Pat on the back. Though I did notice it was harder to get out of bed this morning. I feel old, so I made an emergency run to Walgreens for under-eye concealer.

8:00am I started the day with the slathering of all the anti-aging products I could get my mitts on. There is no such thing as too much preventative action, people.

8:45am: All my wrinkle prevention ruined, because I laughed for near 20 minutes when I saw the decor which Elizabeth and Crystal used to decorate our creative room. It’s too bad I had a large presentation to give that afternoon or you better believe the sparkly hat would be affixed to my jumbo size head if it took super glue to keep it on.

9:30am: Lick the icing from underneath my fingernails. Thanks for the doughnuts, Levi, Sue, and Ash!

Noon: I am a piglet. No time to head out for lunch due to the presentation this afternoon, but luckily the Gapeteria is well stocked with food an amigos. Even Kell and Augustine dropped in and left me this lovely flower.

1:30pm: It’s almost presentation time and I feel ready for a nap. Luckily James delivered just the ticket to higher blood sugar: a Gapeteria rice krispie treat that she fashioned into an “R”!

4:30pm: Presentation went off without a hitch, Tammy, E, and I were recapping the feedback when all of my friends and coworkers came in with treats singing. Crystal had made my favorite lemon cupcakes from scratch and Emily made Root Beer floats! Salami and Brownies and Fruit, oh my! Plus Sue was there, which in general, makes anything an amazing event.

7:00pm: Ted organized a dinner with the amigos at La Barca, which was the perfect way to end the day! After a round of Feliz Cumpleanos and several more rounds of margaritas, I fell asleep on the couch proving yet again that even though you have to get older, you can stay immature forever.

Thanks to everyone for such an amazing birthday!

2 Comments
  1. January 10, 2011 7:18 am

    What a fantastic birthday! You have many good friends who happen to be good bakers and foodies, just my type! Glad you were spoiled and loved. You are special and I’m glad your friends have noticed!! Keep celebrating Doodle!

Comments are closed.

