Skip to content

It would be nice if something made sense for a change -Alice in Wonderland

January 25, 2011

“I wonder if I’ve been changed in the night? Let me think. Was I the same when I got up this morning? I almost think I can remember feeling a little different. But if I’m not the same, the next question is ‘Who in the world am I?'” -Alice in Wonderland

I’ve been trying to reflect a lot lately (code: fall asleep without the tv on) about my strengths and weaknesses and how I can better leverage them and I keeps struggling with something. You see, I think a lot of the time I feel like the Cheshire Cat–a big smile and a few jokes  but never really taken as a serious character in the story. I could choose to be the rabbit–always on a deadline, worrying, and subservient but I don’t think that’s who I want to be either. And don’t get me started on the Mad Hatter–my desk already resembles a tea party gone wrong.

The problem with being the Cheshire Cat is that I have trouble presenting the concerns behind the smile. When I have the opportunity to say what I really feel I always seem to back down and conceal my feelings so that no one gets hurt or offended, and the problems only amplify.

So my challenge to myself now that I’m practically all grown up and trying to come into my adulthood in a mature way is to stop getting frustrated and upset when things are bothering me and instead, work to resolve them. I’ve finally realized that no one is going to look out for me but me, and it’s time for the cat behind the smile to speak up. After all, isn’t that what being an adult is all about? Oh, that and bills.

You’re on your own, girl.
-The Cheshire Cat

One Comment
  1. liza permalink
    January 28, 2011 3:18 pm

    I’ll always look out for you Rach!!

Comments are closed.

