Skip to content

Snaps is the name of the game, the name of the game is snaps.

February 9, 2011

As I sat alone (in the Valentine’s Day sense) tonight cuddled up with Aug watching PS. I Love You and self-loathing over a tub of homemade chili, I was struck with a revelation worth sharing. Maybe I was just having a weird chemical trip due to inhalation of too much of Aug’s tresemme hairspray but I really love my life. And so long as I have a great gay boyfriend with voluminous hair and style that won’t quit, do I really need anyone else?

Life has been pretty good since I abandoned the old rabbit hole and moved to SF’s equivalent of Mexico. The food may be fattening, but it’s delicious. The boys might not be interested in girls, but they’re pretty. Ted might be far away on a romantic adventure in Nicaragua, but she’s coming home. And when she does I’ll have stories of wedding dress shopping, Sundays in Dolores Park with the ladies, Drag Shows over brunch, new restaurants we’ve tried, and lots of bilingual adventures. I’ll show her how I can eat a papusa in two bites and all the curse words I’ve learned in Spanish from hanging out at the taqueria late at night. Those gems you just can’t share on a first date.

And should the day ever come when Ted and Aug find themselves on Noah’s Ark with partners who have skills more impressive than my amazing feats of papusa-eating, the ladies and I will look back on these posts and pictures and laugh at our outfits and the fattening but delicious food we ate and remember how it all felt right at the time. Maybe most of what we do makes no sense and is a waste of the little money we have, but it may be the real reason we find ourselves in the proverbial and literal Mexico of San Francisco: to love each other, to laugh at our mistakes, and to eat each other’s food and say it was good. Because when life’s a fiesta, you may as well enjoy it.

That’s all for now. I love you people.

2 Comments
  1. liza permalink
    February 10, 2011 6:39 am

    I do think you need more than Aug, although he sounds like a great friend. You need the Benster!!

    • February 10, 2011 7:09 am

      Oh Moo, The Benster is 3,000 miles away so I have to learn to live without him–who knows when I’ll get back to NY?

Comments are closed.

